Quicky Update

Hello hello!

Happy Hump Day! This week has been feeling so long for some reason. I’m counting down our days until our getaway to the Sierras in a few weeks, so I have a feeling everything is going to feel slow until we’re in the car on our way!

This week I’ve gotten back on the running/training train and it feels great. I had my first tempo workout in a looooong time on Monday and it felt so, so good to let the legs fly. It was tough and I remembered why I hate speedwork so much, but man, there’s nothing like seeing a 7:41 average at the end of your 5 mile run to get your juices flowing! I think I inadvertently gave myself a little rest break in between tapering for the half, and then taking the week after super easy. I feel really pumped and excited to start stepping up my training! I’ve got a lot of work to do in the next few months.

The wisdom teeth extraction went swimmingly–thanks for the good wishes! I was in and out of the chair in about 15 min and remember exclaiming “There’s four of everything!” on the way home (Thanks blurred vision). I spent Friday sleeping, watching “How I Met Your Mother” and eating milkshakes, applesauce and mashed potatoes.

Saturday I woke up feeling really good and it was a beautiful day! I couldn’t bear to stay cooped up inside! I ended up taking Rudy for an easy 2 mile walk (I didn’t try to run at all!) and then spent the rest of the afternoon in the back yard in the hammock reading.

hammock

It was downright lovely.

Sunday, I ventured out for an easy 2.5 mile run and then spent the day doing my typical Sunday chores: laundry, cleaning, grocery shopping, etc. I’m surprised by how quickly I bounced back and I’m super grateful for it!

I’m still on the mushy food diet, which is just so boring. It consists of oatmeal, soup, scrambled eggs, applesauce and jello. I’m not much of a hamburger person, but man what I wouldn’t do for a giant hamburger with some french fries. I miss bread like you wouldn’t believe. Yesterday, I found myself scrolling through the breakfast section of pinterest staring hungrily at all the glorious carby foods.

I’m kind of in shock that it’s October tomorrow. I have a feeling the next six months are going to fly past us! So many things to look forward to.

Anyways, that’s all I’ve got for you this morning! Have a happy Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Quicky Update

  1. I’m glad to hear your recovery is going so well! The mushy food diet is the absolute worst. I lose my appetite after not being able to chew for awhile. It’s just so unappealing. How much longer do you have?

    I started watching HIMYM from the beginning again over the weekend while I was doing some chores. I mostly had it on in the background but every once in a while something would capture my attention and I found myself watching seriously. I’d completely forgotten about some major plot points that happened in the first season!

    Like

Leave a Reply

