Friday Things!

Happiest of Fridays! Any fun weekend plans? In about 3.5 hours, I’ll be getting my wisdom teeth removed from my head, so my plans are to relax, relax, and do some relaxing (and maybe some homework…womp womp). I’m heading into work for a few hours this morning, and I’m actually really happy about this. It will be good to have a distraction from the fact that I can’t eat or drink anything. It’s seriously the worst news to tell a runner that loves her morning coffee and peanut butter toast more than any other meal of the day. I almost considered not being put under, just so I could eat my breakfast. It is the most important meal of the day, after all.

I already apologized for being the Grumpy McGrumperson I’m going to be at work today.

download

Here’s what I found on the internet this week!

I really related to this. I’m not a creative by any means, but I loved the underlying message of this article. “There is no magical, perfect version of you waiting in the future. You are here. This is all you have. Live exactly the way you want to live, starting right now.”

I’m absolutely guilty of being connected too much. I’ve read a lot of articles on the importance of unplugging, but this one is by far the one that resonated most with me. It’s made all the more poignant, since Scott Dinsmore lost his life while climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Let’s all unplug a little more and vow to spend more time connecting with the people we’re with, and not on Instagram. (Manfriend, I promise to do this more often!)

This is literally my worst nightmare.

Are you sick of Boston talk yet? Sorry. This absolutely blows my mind. Only 5,000 spots?! The goal is to be able to register during the first week next year.

I love Andi’s blog, I loved her book. I loved her Ted Talk. She did this podcast a few weeks ago and I loved it too. The way she speaks about being healthy and loving yourself is something I can relate to and appreciate that she talks so candidly about it. If you’ve got an hour to spare, I highly recommend listening to it.

Pretty sure this was a Bones episode.

I think this is absolutely fascinating. Jeff recently got a Surface Tablet for work, and he’s been playing solitare on the touch screen. It’s crazy to think how far technology has come in 20 years.

I’m no beer connoisseur (don’t ask me to describe any undertones), but just a FYI for those of you that are. I’ll continue drinking my beers in whatever glasses I’m handed.

I may not be able to get a job with my history degree, but this is exactly why it’s important to have some background knowledge oh historical events. I mean, geezus.

This made my elementary school self SO happy. I remember watching All That and loving Kenan and Kel. “Welcome to Good Burger, home of the Good Burger….”

Have a fab weekend everyone!

6 thoughts on “Friday Things!

  1. It is really discouraging how hard it’s becoming for the average Joe to get into Boston anymore. Now even those who qualified by close to 5 minutes are worried about not getting spots. It’s insane.

    I personally think they should reserve a bunch of slots for first-time qualifiers. While everyone who qualified deserves to go, I think it’s kind of unfair that the “squeaker” who worked their ass off has to miss out on a spot because of people who can roll out of bed and still BQ without breaking a sweat. Qualifying by a faster time doesn’t automatically mean you worked harder…I don’t know, I just think they could make some tweaks to the process so that more people who earned the right to race have that opportunity.

    It was so sad and uncomfortable reading that post knowing that Scott passed away. Heartbreaking. I actually have a lot of thoughts on the topic of over-connectedness and you have inspired me to dedicate a post to it during my blog streak. Thanks!!!

    Like

  2. I hope your wisdom teeth removal goes well! Missing breakfast is miserable. I hope that it’s the worst part of the whole ordeal for you.

    I’m bummed to hear about Boston. I hope to run it one day, but I feel like I’m going to struggle hard enough just to qualify, let alone hit 5-10 minutes under qualifying time. Guess I should keep up the speedwork. Sigh…

    Like

  3. Good luck on your wisdom teeth removal! I had to have the procedure done twice. Once in 2014 and then another time this summer. The first time was horrible, I couldn’t eat for three days. But the second time I was completely fine (other than the fact that I wanted to sleep all day). I was eating a burger that same evening! Hope yours goes as well as my second extraction went!

    Like

  4. Good luck with the wisdom teeth! I think I need to get mine pulled soon but I’m putting it off as long as I could (also cos it costs a fortune in the UK!). I can’t believe Boston has so few places! I’ve never entered, but I entered the ballot for the London Marathon (which has no qualifying time) and the odds are severely stacked against me. Like, 15/1. Results are out in the next few days!

    Like

Leave a Reply

