Training Log 9.7.15-9.13.15

Happy Monday–and Happy Boston Registration Week! I hope you all had a fabulous weekend. Ours was a lot of fun, and per usual, I’m sad to see it end.

It’s race week! It’s hard to believe I’m running a half-marathon this Saturday. It doesn’t feel like I should be ready for it. I’ll talk more about my goals for Saturday later this week, but I’m trying to just take it easy and not overly stress myself out about it.

I ended up “tapering” a lot more than I anticipated, which I guess is a good things. My legs felt pretty rough towards the end of the week, so I’m hoping to do some yoga this week to make sure everything is nice and stretched out before the race.

Monday – off

Driving back from Colorado.

Tuesday – 5 miles

I’ve been having a really tough time getting myself up and out of bed before 6 most mornings. Typically, that doesn’t leave me with much time to run in the mornings. Tuesday, I got up and decided to hell with it, and leashed up Rudy and we went out for two easy miles. After work and before class, I headed out for another three. I tried to run a little fast, and nailed a 7:06 as my last mile!!! That felt really, really good.

Wednesday – 4 miles

After work, I set off for four easy miles. This wasn’t anything spectacular, just some easy miles.

Thursday – 3 miles

I got up and ran early in the morning, but it wasn’t stellar by any means. My legs were feeling pretty tired. Kept it easy and short.

Friday – Strength workout

Alright, I’m just going to say it. I can’t do a strength day the day before a long run. I had a dentist appointment after work, which turned into 2 hours in the chair, and when I got home with a numb face, I just really didn’t want to run. So, I took Rudy for a walk and did a Deck of Cards workout instead.

Saturday – 6.5 miles

My last “long run” turned into “survive for at least six miles”. My legs were SHOT, it was hot out and I mentally didn’t want to be out there. My body was craving sleep after our pretty sleep-deprived weekend in Colorado, so I let myself sleep in on Saturday morning and then lazed around for a few hours. By the time I finally got myself out the door, it was almost noon and 80*.

summer long runI just wasn’t feeling it. My legs were pretty shot from the lunges and squats the day before, and the heat affected me pretty badly. I ran a hilly trail near the house, and it took everything I had to keep climbing up. I was trying to look at it from the perspective that I’ll be doing that a lot next weekend, and the start time isn’t until 9, so it’ll be warm. After getting home, I laid on the floor for a while before I was able to move again. 

Total miles: 18.5

Not at all what I was planning on for this week, but oh well. Sometimes that happens. The best thing to do–especially right before a race–is listen to your body and give it what it needs, and sometimes that’s a lot less milage than you would like!

5 thoughts on “Training Log 9.7.15-9.13.15

  1. Oh man, I know that shot legs feeling where all you can do is finish the run in survival mode! You will feel better soon! When you feel that way, rest is KEY and you seem to be in tune with that. You will have a better week this week – I know it!

    Like

  2. Listening to your body is so important! I had a similar week, I skipped an easy run yesterday and didn’t get to the 20 mile mark, which I was kind of mad about. But I did a speed workout, a strength workout, a 4 mile run and a 10 mile run (my longest in over a month) in four days – I had trouble hitting my paces because my legs were probably friggin tired!

    I think it helps to focus on what you did accomplish instead of what you didn’t. As cliche as it sounds, you didn’t “only” run 18.5 miles this week, you ran 18.5 miles! And you got in some killer strength work, which is invaluable to your fitness. Every week I have to remind myself to see the glass half full. There will always be something I missed or didn’t do, and if I’m always obsessing over that, well, I’m not gonna be a happy runner.

    Have a great week! Can’t wait to see how you do on Saturday!

    Like

  3. Despite not feeling good on your long run, you look strong! I can’t blame you for not wanting to do strength training the day before — gotta save those legs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

