Friday Things

Happy Friday everyone! 

Jeff and I are currently on our way to Colorado for the long weekend and I’m so pumped! I’ve had it in my head that I will love Colorado for about 6 years now, and I’m finally going to get to experience it’s glory! 

(Also, I’m writing this in the car on my phone. So apologies for any typos, formatting weirdness and the like.) 

-It’s been an insanely busy and hectic month! As looney as I felt for most of August, I’m sad to see it go. It’s headlamp season again for morning runs (blegh) and so chilly in the mornings! Long sleeves are being donned and rumors of a particularly nasty winter headed our way already has me missing summer days. While others are embracing pumpkin-flavored everything, I’m holding tightly onto the last bits of grilling and patio weather we’ll have for a while!

  
 
-I’ve started school! Bio 181 is in full swing and it feels SO weird to be back in a classroom. Particularly in a 100 level class. I haven’t taken anything biology related since I was a sophomore in high school, so I really feel like I’m starting from zero. But, after two lectures, I am happy to report I find it a heck of a lot more interesting than 15 year old me. 

-I kind of can’t believe I have a half marathon to run in 2 weeks. I plan on a 12 miler tomorrow morning, the first I’ve managed to get in this training cycle. While I don’t have any real goals for this race, I would like to have a good race. I’d prefer to run strong and well, I’m also really trying not to burn myself out. I’m acutely aware of the fact that I have races and goals to train for until February and that still seems like a long way away! 

-I’ve found myself transitioning to road running lately and it makes me happy and sad. It’s too dark in the mornings to venture onto the trails anymore, so my week day runs are currently on the roads. I’m getting some of my speed back, which is fun, but at the same time, I’ll be sad to say goodbye to these gorgeous views. 

   

-We’ll be in the Denver/Boulder area this weekend. Send me your recommendations for things to see, places to eat, and beer to drink. 

Have a happy long weekend everyone! Enjoy the last bit of summer lovin!

4 thoughts on “Friday Things

  1. Hope you have a great time!! I lived in Denver for a hot minute and it was beautiful out there. I really only experienced the touristy parts of Denver and Boulder though, so I’m not much help on the recommendation front.

    Glad you’re enjoying school! I think it’s easier to enjoy school as an adult, when you’re choosing to be there instead of forced to be there, and mature enough to appreciate the opportunity to get an education.

    I wish I could say I shared your sadness about summer being over, but I couldn’t be happier to see it go. So over it. I ACHE for chilly, long sleeved running weather and I’m so jealous that you have it. I bet it’s one of the things that’s been helping you get that speed back, too šŸ˜‰

    Like

  2. Have a lovely weekend! I know exactly what you mean about wanting to race well whilst not burning out- I’m currently debating whether to run my (first) half marathon in october, given that i want to run a full in april. I’m injured and I’m beginning to think it would be better to skip the october half and maybe do one in december, and then start proper training in 2016. So much to think about!

    Like

Leave a Reply

