When it All Finally Clicks Again

Guys.

It happened.

Sunrise from my run this morning. IT WAS SO PRETTY. This photo doesn't do it justice.

Sunrise from my run this morning. IT WAS SO PRETTY. This photo doesn’t do it justice.

I finally had a run where I felt like I was running…and not just trying to survive.

Does that make sense?

For the first time in 3 long months I enjoyed my run. I got up at 5 this morning, put on my shoes and went. And I just, ran. No expectations, no route or pace plan, I just wanted to run. I figured I’d test the waters (because all week my calves have been tiiiiiight. Which I plan primarily on the fact that I need new shoes–which are on their way to me and should be here tomorrow), see how my legs feel and go from there.

I ran up the street and when my watch beeped for the first mile, I was surprised by how good I felt. So, I kept going. I ended up running a 5 mile loop from my house that has rolling hills throughout and I felt great. I climbed up the hills, no problem, and I opened my stride on the downhill to feel that speed again. I watched the sun come up and enjoyed the peace of the quiet morning. My legs felt strong (except for the last mile or so–but again, I’m blaming the shoes), my breathing was calm, and *CHEESE ALERT* my heart felt full (hey, I warned you).

Since coming back from my injury, every run has felt hard. It hadn’t clicked for me. I didn’t feel like I was gaining fitness or endurance, and definitely not speed. I was able to push myself through longer runs (with 8.4 being my longest..a month and a half ago), but it didn’t feel good. I wrote on Monday that I was considering dropping to the 10k at the Flagstaff  Marathon if things weren’t feeling better.

Things are feeling better.

Now I know that one 5 mile run does not a half-marathon make. I’m still going to have hard runs. Running 13.1 miles in a month may still really suck. But, today–this morning–I finally feel like I’m on track again. I finally feel like I’m making progress. And that is the motivation I’ve been needing to keep going.

Sunrise2

Another shot from this morning. Seriously. It was so pretty.

I feel like I’ve been super whiney on here the past few months, and I appreciate you sticking by me. I’ve been discouraged and frustrated, and that’s not an enjoyable thing to read. But, it’s where I was and I appreciate you sticking through my #runnersproblems

For now, I’m going to keep riding my Running High and see where it takes me 😉

Shirt from Territory Run Co. I'm obsessed with it. I would wear it every day if that was acceptable.

Shirt from Territory Run Co. I’m obsessed with it. I would wear it every day if that was acceptable. This photo has nothing to do with anything. I just really, really like it.

10 thoughts on “When it All Finally Clicks Again

  1. Hooray!! I’m so glad you’re feeling better. Your patience is paying off. Hopefully this was a gateway to more “click” runs to come! And you will totally rock that half next month

    Like

  2. It’s not cheesy! Those great run moments just make you feel that way. That’s what we are all chasing – those moments. Hopefully it keeps getting better and better for you until your half.

    Like

  3. I so know that feeling – when it’s just a struggle over and over and over and over and over and then…it happens. It’s like being able to breathe again! I had one of those moments coming off of my Achilles injury in my last long run before Boston. I felt awesome after months of just straight sucky feeling, and I got to my last mile and I actually cried. I also think they were tears of “thank god this training segment is over”, but they were happy tears. So happy for you!

    Like

  4. I’m glad to hear things are starting to come together! Coming back after an injury is so demoralizing. You want to run fast but your body just can’t hold the paces it used to. I’ve gone through it myself and it is so nice when things finally start clicking again.

    Like

  5. Pingback: Training Log 7.27.15-8.2.15 + Short July Review | Running High

Leave a Reply

