Training Log 7.20.15-7.26.15

Hey everyone! I’m back after an insanely busy week and emotional weekend. We lost a good friend yesterday. Our friend had to put his dog down after an unfortunate accident and it was absolutely heartbreaking. He was a joy and an absolute love and will be greatly missed.

Hug your pet a little tighter for me today!

Anyway, here’s this week’s workouts:

*Quick note: I won’t be incorporating mile paces or splits for the time being. This weekend on my long run, I was running a pretty challenging loop and found myself pushing myself to run times that, to be frank, I have no business running right now. I realized I’m putting quite a bit of pressure on myself to run hard trails fast, which doesn’t make any sense. So, I’m taking those off the table. Numbers will become important again soon in my training, but right now, I don’t want to focus on them. I want to focus on getting fit and my endurance back.Β 

Monday – 4 miles

I was planning on running hills per my Monday plans, but I ran up the hill once and threw a big ol’ NOPE at that.

So, instead, I looped around a did an easy four mile run.

Tuesday – 3.5 miles with Rudog

My last bit at work and my drive home was SUPER frustrating, so I got home and wasn’t planning on running since it was close to six already but J was like “erm…maybe you should.” Ha. So, I leashed up the dog and we went out for a few miles and felt a million times better.

Wednesday – 5.5 miles

I tried to do some kind of speed play on this run and surprise! Fell apart real fast. It was a wake up call that I’m not in the kind of shape to be running fast for very long. Then I ended up with a stomach ache and it was hot, etc. etc. This was just not my run, but I’m glad I pushed onwards.

Thursday – REST

My legs have really been feeling the increase in mileage, so I took the day off to rest.

Friday – 3 easy

I wanted to try to do a shake out run before my long run on Saturday. I ran a loop in a nearby neighborhood that had a park with a water fountain, since it was about 85* out when I went on my run.

Waterfountain

That’s some high quality H20

Glory to the Water Fountain Gods.

Saturday – 7ish long run

So, my original plan was to go run Soldier’s Trail + Highland’s Trail for a total of 9 miles. When I got to Ft. Tuthill, the place was packed and there was some kind of event going on. So, I turned around and was going to go back home to just run a random trail near the house, when I decided to run Mars Hill instead.

It’s a very, very tough run. The first 2.5 miles are all a steady climb, and then you don’t start to decline for about another mile (which is rolling hills). Then, once you get down the mesa, you’re running on more rolling hills until you get back to town.

MarsHill

My legs felt dead from the very first moment–my first mile was a 9 something. I’m trying to remember that I’m not going to be running trails like these fast–there’s just no way to do it. I’m still working on my endurance and there’s just no way to climb hundreds of feet at an 8 min mile–at least not for me.

It’s been a tough mental shift for me, especially when I have marathon training looming in the distance. I was being really tough on myself during this run when I finally stopped to think about it. Why was I pushing myself? Because I feel like I should be running X amount of miles in X amount of time? It doesn’t make sense. These fall races are supposed to be fun, and I haven’t been having much fun lately. So, I decided that I will continue to train and see where I am at the end of August. If I’m not feeling awesome about my fitness, I’ll drop from the half marathon to the 10k. There’s no shame in that. I’d much rather enjoy myself and get to the beginning on marathon training excited and ready to work then already exhausted.

So, there that is!

Today is again supposed to be hills, and instead I’m going to go for an easy run on one of my favorite trails. I may not even bring my Garmin with me!

What was your favorite run from last week? Share some run love!

10 thoughts on “Training Log 7.20.15-7.26.15

  1. Good job this week! I’ve been going through something similar since my last marathon – pushing myself to make my paces faster because I feel like I need to “prove” that my last training cycle increased my fitness and made me faster. Honestly though, this is normal for me for the beginning of cycles. I tend to go all cowboy in the first few weeks when I have lots of energy, but once I get in the swing of things I start to dial it down a bit and stop obsessing over splits and paces.

    I’ve been debating taking paces/times out of my recaps, too – at least for easy and long runs which aren’t pace-based workouts. Like you mention, I’m not really sure what purpose it serves, because I’m already recording those stats in private training logs anyway. I’m trying to be more mindful of what running stuff I post on social media in general. I’d like to keep it focused to what’s really important. And I like to remember that my “bad day” could be someone else’s rockstar pace, so I don’t want to cause anyone I know to feel bad if I don’t have to. I think I will join you in omitting that stuff from my next recap!! Good idea πŸ™‚

    Like

    • I cannot tell you how relieved it makes me to hear someone else having a tough time! I know that splits are crucial information–especially for speed workouts, but being so paced-focused for so long has made me unable to just work on getting back into shape! And it’s frustrating. So, the easiest thing I figured I could do was take the pace out of the equation. I’m even considering putting my garmin in a pocket or something, so I can make sure my mileage is on point, but not have my pace on my wrist to obsessively check on! I just have to stop focusing on the numbers for a while and let my body do what it needs to do!

      Like

  2. I used to be hesitant about posting my times because they’re much slower than others (or people I follow) but then every time I started to really consider stopping, someone would comment on how relieving it was to see someone post times like mine because it was similar to theirs. And that’s when I said, heck with it. I’m inspired be people faster than me (like you, Allison @invertedsneakers, Lauren @runsaltrun, etc.) and like when you guys post times because I like seeing you guys progress, have “off” runs, “good” runs, etc. It shows you guys are normal, like me! πŸ™‚

    Plus, I trail run and my times are waaaaay slower than my road times (so basically, much slower than you ja!) and I know that. In fact, that’s one of the reasons I like trail running because the pressure is off to run “fast”. You can’t on the trails (unless you’re Scott Jurek).

    This training cycle I’ve been really focused on running my long runs slow. They call it LSD (Long SLOW Distance) for a reason. At first, it was tough seeing my splits and average time knowing I could run much faster but I also knew I’d be burning myself out. Training runs are not races. I’ve seen girls in my run club do their training runs fast and consequently see them get injured or sick from pushing their bodies too much. I honestly think that happened to me at Phoenix Marathon last March. My body was breaking down from over training.

    Anyway, sorry so long but you’re doing awesome and I’ve been enjoying reading/following your journey ❀

    Like

    • Thank you for your feedback, Helly! I love everything you said! I’m definitely not against posting my times–and I will again soon–but right now, I’m trying to recover from an injury and build my endurance back up after taking six weeks off and running really sporadically. I’ve been focusing so much on the numbers, I haven’t been able to really listen to my body and just let myself run what I need to run. I’m feeling a lot of pressure from myself to be hitting the numbers I was seeing last fall and winter, so in order to get myself back into the best shape I can be in and not injure myself in the process, I’m removing numbers from my game for a while. It’s not that I’m ashamed of them, or I don’t want people to know what I’m running, it’s just that for me, right now, it’s not helpful. It’s making me run paces I shouldn’t be and I’m afraid that that will put me back into an ankle brace. So, I’m taking a step back from the pressure of more races and faster paces and I’m just gonna run and let my body do what it wants to πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Smart girl! Coming back from injury, it’s not about paces. Good for you and it’s good other people are reading that you’re doing this so they can benefit from it as well πŸ™‚

        xoxo, helly

        Like

  3. Girl, I’ve been having a rough few weeks myself. It’s just been tough. Weather, life stuff, health stuff has made running such a challenge!! You are doing so great. When I go out on trail runs that are not races, I usually run between a 10-11 minute mile. You are straight killing it out there! Don’t be so hard on yourself, especially during summer. You will eat that marathon for BREAKFAST if you chose to do it πŸ™‚ Also, I’m so sorry to hear about the pup 😦

    Like

    • Thanks lady! It’s definitely an overload of STUFF, but it’s also just wanting to take my time. I feel like I jumped feet first back into training and didn’t take much time to try building a base. So, I just need to take a step back and re-prioritize! Thanks for your encouragement! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I hear you… I’m not sure if it’s blogging/publicly sharing our running “data” if you will or social media, but I too find myself looking at my splits thinking ugh these are embarrassing. No.. no they’re not. I’m running in the peak of summer heat and humidity.. why do I think I should be running just as fast as the fall. You are doing an absolutely amazing job training, and I think taking some time to re-evaluate and find the FUN will only make you stronger in the future! Hope you have a fabulous week!

    Like

  5. Oh I hate hearing about pets getting hurt. I can’t even think about how I would feel if something happened to my cat. I usually get kinda nervous about posting splits, since they really aren’t anything amazing. But you are right. My bad day might be someone else’s goal. Splits certainly are not important. You’re gonna kick some serious butt at your marathon!!!

    Like

  6. Pingback: When it All Finally Clicks Again | Running High

Leave a Reply

