Finding Motivation When There is None -TOLT

Today, I’m trying something new and linking up with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday

Thinking-Out-Loud

If you’ll recall, I registered for the Run Flagstaff Hot Summer Nights race series, the first race being a 7k last month. Well, yesterday was race #2, a 5k….and I didn’t run it.

I could give you the multitude of excuses I came up with not to…I’ve been working overtime this week to make up hours, I didn’t want to drive 40 minutes just to run 3.2 miles, etc etc. But, what it really boils down to was this…I didn’t feel like it.

I just didn’t want to race. It didn’t sound fun or exciting to me. It felt like just another something I had to do. So, I didn’t go. Instead, I explored a new trail and ran around Buffalo Park for a while after work. And I even had mental issues during that run. I wanted to throw some speed work into it so I did some fartlek work, but it was a mental battle to keep going for five miles and not throw in the towel after two.

For only being the first week of training, I’m finding it really hard to be motivated to run and do my prescribed workouts. I want to run. I want to be out there covering miles in my shoes and being excited about running again, but for some reason I’m not. I don’t know if it’s that I’m overwhelmed and my training schedule seems incredibly daunting, or if I’m teetering on the edge of burnout. It’s incredibly frustrating though, because after six weeks of not being ABLE to run, I would hope that I would be all that more excited to jump into running with gusto.

I hope that once my mileage is built up again and I’m running steady for a few months (I don’t really need to train after the Flag Half until Novemeber–just maintain a solid base before marathon training starts), I’ll feel more excited about what’s ahead of me. But right now, it’s something I look at and almost feel dread about. And I don’t want to dread my runs. I love running!

So, I don’t quite know what the solution is. Keep going and hope the motivation shows up eventually? Cut my running down to four days a week instead of five and give myself a little more rest? I’m not terribly sure. It’s hard not knowing exactly what the problem is–it doesn’t make it easy to fix. So, for now, I’m going to just keep running–enjoy the good runs, and be thankful for the bad ones, because they make me stronger.

How do you deal with a lack of motivation? How often does burnout happen for you?

7 thoughts on “Finding Motivation When There is None -TOLT

  1. Stop beating yourself up! It’s ok to run just for exercise. If it’s a challenge you need in your life maybe it’s time for something new? Biking? A Century is no easy feat. Can’t see yourself in those funny shorts? Well be honest…did you ever think you’d run a marathon let alone QB?

    Like

  2. Sometimes if I don’t run for a while and then try to force myself back into it I get the exact same feelings. I love running when it feels like something that comes naturally to me, but when I feel like I’m starting over I usually just get frustrated and want to quit. You might be having a similar experience. I think you’re handling it well – whenever you feel like you don’t want to do something (like that 5k), just don’t! You know yourself better than anyone, so don’t put too much pressure on yourself!

    Like

  3. I always have motivation for easy runs, but track workouts or long runs I sometimes find my motivation suddenly disappears, and I think a lot of it has to do with the pressure I put on myself and feeling like I could “fail”. I have to remind myself that the biggest failure is not trying, and to get out and put my best foot (no pun intended haha) forward and enjoy the process.

    Like

  4. I think everyone goes through these times. I find that taking a little time off usually helps. Either that or letting go of numbers and plans and just running for the sake of running — without a pace or distance in mind. That’s what really helped me fall back in love with it, so you can always give that a shot and see if it helps 🙂

    Like

  5. It’s okay to have those feelings – I get them often. Like today, LOL. Mine usually stems from a daunting training program. Like, it just looks like so much WORK. I find that if I go out and can just start the workout, then I end up finishing it. And sometimes, you just don’t want to race – and that’s okay!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Training Log 7.13.15-7.19.15 | Running High

  7. Pingback: Running Survey | Running High

Leave a Reply

