Vacation Update

Hello from Houston! Sorry for my radio silence here and elsewhere in the blog world–we’ve been going non-stop since we arrived Saturday morning, and we finally have a quiet morning! So, I thought I’d update you all with some of our activities (and eats) so far.

But first, let’s chat a bit about running (since this is a running blog and all…) If you follow me on Instagram (and if you don’t-please do! I love the insta!) you may have seen I am having a TOUGH time hanging. I’m sure it’s a combination of the heat, humidity and getting over this stomach bug (which is STILL hanging around, ugh), but my milage and paces are not where I’d like them to be. Obviously, I’m not going to push myself too hard– I’m not used to the climate and I’m still recuperating for whatever knocked me down for two days. But man!

There are no words to accurately describe how the heat + humidity affects you. I’ve read other blogs that complain about humidity, and Jeff would talk about the humidity in Houston and I truly thought it was just over dramatics. Nope. Anyone who manages to maintain their training through the summer where there’s humidity, I give you serious props. You are badass. I am thanking my lucky stars that in a few days we’ll be back to our 70* weather and mountain air. You all are seriously tough and I am in awe.

Anyways! Onto the photo dump!

My first Shipley Donut experience.

My first Shipley Donut experience.

I also underestimated the mosquitos. My legs are seriously bit up. This was the biggest sucker. This got so big and bruised! Whatever got me took about 5 years off my life.

I also underestimated the mosquitos. My legs are seriously bit up. This one got so big and bruised…whatever got me took about 5 years off my life.

First time at Buc-ee's. Holy balls. It's a monster!

First time at Buc-ee’s. Holy balls. It’s a monster! Also, awkward pose much? I wasn’t completely ready, so you get that awesome photo.

Fourth of July BBQ

Fourth of July BBQ

First Texas BBQ (lots of firsts this trip!). Shrimp Po-Boy

First Texas BBQ (lots of firsts this trip!). Shrimp Po-Boy

Driving down to Galveston in the YJ with no doors!

Driving down to Galveston in the YJ with no doors!

nasa

Field trip to NASA

Got a behind the scenes tour and got to sit in the cockpit of the Space Shuttle! Rad.

Got a behind the scenes tour and got to sit in the cockpit of the Space Shuttle! Rad.

Rocket Park

Rocket Park

It’s been a really fun so far! Our next two days are a little more low key and then we head back home early Saturday! Why must vacations always come to an end?

Hope you all are having a fabulous week!

11 thoughts on “Vacation Update

  1. Sounds fun! Humidity is always so tough. It’s been nice around here for a few days, but I’m sure it will get awful and humid again soon. Have fun for the rest of your vacation!

    Like

    • I’m no donut expert, but they were pretty delicious! And thanks! It’s the result of a slight mix up at the salon, but I’m actually really digging it!! 🙂

      Like

  2. I am currently living in Houston and it’s true – the humidity is WAY worse than you think it’s going to be! In my experience, you just have to slow down. Slower paces feel really tough, which can be grating mentally, but it’s all about telling yourself to focus on how amazing it will feel in October! As a side note, I really hope you’ve tried a kolache

    Like

    • Oh man, I can’t imagine spending the whole summer here! Props to you lady! And YES! Our first morning here we went and got kolaches…amazing!!!

      Like

  3. Looks like a cool vacation, glad you’re having fun!!

    Summers in Texas are no joke. In AmeriCorps I spent a few weeks working on a project in Brazos Bend State Park, even further south in TX than Houston, IN JULY…I have never experienced anything like that humidity before in my life.

    Don’t stress. Remember, just because you have to run slower in humidity, does not mean you are losing fitness. Your effort level is the same.

    Like

    • Ugh that sounds awful!!! I seriously don’t think anything could have prepared me for how this would feel lol I can’t imagine what you had to work through! Yowza!

      Like

Leave a Reply

