Friday Things

Happy Friday! I had a Friday post all written up and ready to go and then WordPress went and deleted it!

So, let me try this again.

1. Thanks for the support and excitement on my last post! I am even more excited now after reading everyone’s supportive comments. While, I’m not super stoked about the idea of training for nine straight months (it actually kind of scares me), I am excited about getting that 3:30 I so desperately want! I also plan on taking it pretty easy in terms of training for the Flag Half and Soulstice Trail Run. I’m primarily going to focus on distance and hill work, and then I’ll start introducing some speed work back into regular rotation mid-September.

2. I haven’t run much in the last two weeks. I wanted to take it easy after my races, and then I got sick, and then my friend was in town, and then I figured out my training schedule and I was like “woah okay, I’m gonna take it easy right now”. So, I’m rolling with it for now. My ankle has also been acting up, so I’m trying to let that rest a bit.

3. Speaking of running, we’re heading to Houston soon to visit friends and family and I’m getting worried about running in that heat and humidity! Humidity-familiar friends. How do you do it! Give me your tips and tricks. Is it better to get up early and run in the am, or wait and run in the evenings?

Unfortunately, I can’t remember anything else I talked about this morning prior to the deletion of my first post. So, that’s all I’m going with this time!

Hope everyone has a great weekend! We’re going to see John Butler Trio tomorrow, and I plan on running a nice long trail run, but other than that, plan on taking it easy. Hope everyone stays cool!

10 thoughts on “Friday Things

  1. Hope you have a great weekend! Glad you have a plan in place and that you’re feeling better about relaxing for a while.

    As for the humidity…so, okay, I don’t know if this is actually true or not, but I have heard that mugginess can actually be WORSE in the morning (my guess, if true, is because of the dewiness and lack of sunlight). Make sure you’re drinking not just water, but a lot of electrolytes. With humidity you’re going to sweat a lot despite all the water you drink, so you need to make sure you’re replenishing those lost electrolytes. Good luck!!

    Like

    • Thanks! I didn’t even think about anything other than water, but I’ll be packing some Nuun now! Thankfully I won’t have to run further than 8 at the most, so I’m hoping it won’t be too terrible!

      Like

  2. Enjoy that relaxation – you’re getting ready to take on a big goal and it will feel good to start up with fresh legs!! I run early in the AM – I think the humidity sucks either way, but something about AM running makes it a little easier!

    Like

    • I think the general consensus is mornings are best 🙂 Thanks for your help! I’m definitely enjoying resting, I can’t believe another training cycle is about to begin!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Woohoo! I’m so excited about your training. I like to run in the mornings because although the humidity might be a little higher, the cooler temps make all the difference.

    Like

Leave a Reply

