Happy National Running Day!

Happy Wednesday friends! And, more importantly, HAPPY NATIONAL RUNNING DAY!

I celebrated the best way I could, 4 easy miles this am before work. While it was an easy run, it was easier. It was a beautiful morning–albeit a little cold (34*! WTF), and I loved being out and running again!

sinclairwash

Not from this morning…obviously….it’s from Saturday. I’m going to just pretend it was this nice out.

Anyways, in the spirit of the day, I’m linking up with Lisa, to talk all things running!

Right now I run because…I can!!! Having to take time off to heal from an injury has really made me realize how much I love this sport. I am so fortunate to be healthy enough to run, and so I do. 

I started running because…I wanted to stay in shape. I had done sports (soccer and track) all through high school and in college, I found myself pretty sedentary without the demand of organized sports. My mom was a runner when I was growing up (she ran a marathon for her 41st birthday…what a badass) and so I was inspired to start running myself. I figured it was the best way to keep myself trim and healthy with all the college food. 

When I don’t run, I…I think we all know this answer to this, but this post sums it up pretty nicely. 

One thing that running has taught me is…I am so much more capable then I give myself credit for. When I started running, I ran ten minute miles and three miles felt like an eternity. I never thought I would run a marathon, let alone FOUR, and I never thought qualifying for Boston would happen. And, well, we know how that story ends. Believe in yourself! Running shows me what I can do with a little hard work. 

  
My favorite kind of run is…when it all clicks. You know the ones! Everything feels good, the weather is gorgeous and you feel like you can go forever? Those are the money runs. 

Right now my biggest running-related goal is…to just get back to shape. I have some fall races I’d like to do well in, but really, I just want to feel good and have fun! I’ve been having so much fun exploring the magic that is trail running and I’m really looking forward to my first trail races! 

  
I hope you all have an awesome National Running Day! 

7 thoughts on “Happy National Running Day!

  1. Oh my goodness, 34 degrees seems like it was forever ago! Is it terrible to say that I miss it? I love what running has taught you, because I really believe that it taught me to believe in myself and that anything is possible so I really understand what you’re talking about!

    Like

  2. You rock Nona! But 34 degrees? In June! Ai yi yi!

    I also love those “money” runs. When you’ve had a string of sluggish, slow, difficult workouts and then all of a sudden you just go out there and ROCK it. Those runs are what reassure us progress IS happening!

    Like

  3. I am so glad to see that you are back and feeling good again! Being injured really makes you appreciate what you can do when you are healthy. I look forward to seeing all of your awesome pictures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

