Training Log 3.25.15-3.31-15

Hello! Happy Monday! Happy JUNE! How in the world is 2015 already half over?

June’s going to be an exciting month! A race, our anniversary, my best friend visiting and a concert! And then we head to Houston! All amazing, fun wonderful things! But, before we get ahead of ourselves, let’s talk the end of May. Specifically, RUNNING! I am back with a training log for the first time in forever! So, let’s check out how my first week back running shaped up!

Monday– 3 stormy miles

IMG_3361Towards the end of this run, I got a little rained on, which is always fun. This run was my second one back, and I think the hardest. That’s when I came home and was frustrated and upset that running wasn’t easy. I hit one of my favorite trails and even though I was on it for less than a mile and a half, it was still nice to hit dirt.

Tuesday – NTC 30 min Ab & Butt workout

Trying to stick to my plan to run every other day, I looked to one of my favorite Nike Training Club workouts. It’s quick and always makes me feel like I worked hard for it.

Wednesday – 4 miles

I can’t for the life of my find where Angry, Injured Nona hid my Spibelt, so running pictures aren’t happening too often on runs [I only have one pair of shorts my phone fits into the pocket and I’m kind of afraid to carry it in case I drop it and smash my screen even more]. But, I headed out after work for four miles at Buffalo Park. It was really, really hard. I wore my Garmin, since I wanted to know how far I was going, but the bad part about that was I got to see my pace, too. If huffing and puffing up the hills wasn’t discouraging enough–the numbers on the face of my Garmin pushed me over the edge.

I realize I can’t compare myself coming back from an injury to where I was while I was marathon training, but it’s really hard not to. I know if I’m patient and work hard, I’ll be back to running up those hills like they’re nothing. And now that I know I the distance of the loop, I’m going to continue leaving the Garmin at home.

Thursday – 2 miles with Rudy

I got home from work on Thursday and couldn’t decide what I wanted to do. Rudy’s face and anticipation of going outside for anything at all made the decision for me. I leashed him up, and out we went. He made me run WAY too fast, with our first mile coming in at around 7:00min. I was spent after that! So we looped around to finish with two miles.

Friday – Yard work

Jeff and I were having some friends over for a BBQ on Saturday, so we spent the afternoon cleaning up the weeds and pine needles. It took a couple hours and was some serious raking work, so I’m counting it as cross training.

Saturday – 5 miles

sinclairwashSummer finally came to Flagstaff! When I went out running Saturday morning, it was already in the 70s. Whew! I forgot what it’s like to run in the warmth. This was tough. I struggled and took a lot of breaks to catch my breath, but I knew I wanted to get 5 miles logged. It wasn’t easy–and it took me a while, but I managed to do it!

Total miles: 14

Not bad for my first week back! It’s certainly not easy, but it’s getting better and now that the nice weather has come to Flag, I’m ecstatic to be spending my time out running in it!

2 thoughts on “Training Log 3.25.15-3.31-15

  1. I LOVE the Ab & Butt workout on NTC!! LOVE that app. Don’t be too hard on yourself for having a tough time with your comeback. I promise you, in a few weeks the endurance will come back – and much faster than you think. Then comes pace. Before you know it, you’re right back where you left off!

    Like

  2. I’m glad to hear you’re getting back to it! I’m sure it’s hard, but try not to worry about lost fitness. You’ll be back to being in awesome shape in no time, I’m sure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

