The Hardest Part So Far…

Hello! Happy Thursday!

I hope you’re having better weather than we are here. Ru-dog woke me up twice last night (12:30 and then again at 3am) because we were having a serious storm. We’re talking pouring down rain and thunder and lightening. It’s pretty grey and stormy this morning and we’re supposed to get SNOW again this weekend. WTF. I’m ready for it to be summer like it is in all other places!

It’s my second to last day at the gallery, today! I am STOOOOOKED! The powers that be have been doing construction this week (of course), so my drive has been taking an extra 10-15 minutes each day. I am not sad to not be commuting anymore, I’ll tell ya that much.

Anyways, I digress. The point of today’s post…my ankle feels AWESOME. I can walk, put weight on it, get up on my tippy toes. The only part I can still feel a kind of pull from where I strained it is when I stretch it under me (which is how I rolled it….so makes sense, right?). On Monday, Rudy and I went for a two mile walk on the trails and I tested out a little running.* And I thought, “Ehh…I could do it. But, I bet if I wait a few more days, I’ll probably be safer.”

On Tuesday, I did a workout in the morning (a Barre workout on youtube. Holy hell! I’m still sore!), and then took Rudy for a walk and did a little bit of running.*

On Wednesday, I took Rudy for a walk in the morning and tested it out with a little bit of running.*

*And by a little bit, I mean a little bit. A few steps at the most. Not even a tenth of a mile.

I was SO tempted to get on the treadmill yesterday after I got home from work and bust out a couple miles. But, instead, I unrolled my mat and did some Pilates.

My ankle feels awesome. BUT, I know if I tried to run right now I would probably manage a few miles and  it would end up taking me so much longer to really run again. It’s close to being able to be run on again, but it’s not ready yet. So, instead, I’m being patient. I’m resisting all urges to wrap my ankle up, stick it in my shoe and go run a couple miles. Instead, I’m sitting my rear on my yoga mat and sticking to safe, smart exercises.

It sucks. 

I want to run! I want to run. So. Freakin. Badly. Playing it safe and smart will be beneficial for me, I KNOW. I’ll be back and running in no time (seriously. I’m thinking I can hold out until Sunday and then I might have to go just go for it), but it is SO hard to not have those “ehhhh just a little bit on the treadmill to test it out” thoughts.

This is the hardest part of the recovery process. When I couldn’t walk, or put weight on my ankle, I missed running, of course, but it wasn’t as strong as an urge when I needed J to give me a piggy back ride to the bathroom. Now that it’s practically back to normal, it’s hard to give it just a little extra time.

In the meantime, I’m going to put all my willpower into not running just yet. Which probably means I’m going to end up eating the whole tray of brownies my coworker brought in to celebrate my last days.

I don’t have enough willpower for both, people!

6 thoughts on “The Hardest Part So Far…

  1. I can only imagine how frustrating that must be. I think you’re being really smart about waiting though. Good luck with your tests of willpower!

    Like

  2. That truly is the hardest part!! I’m glad it’s getting better!! It really is hard when you “could” run on it-it takes so much willpower to be patient and do what’s best for the long term. You will be stronger because of it!! A little bit longer not running in the scheme of forever isn’t too long, but I know it’s kind of torture.

    Like

  3. You’re almost there.!! you’re at the point where you’re basically recovered, but you shouldn’t run yet. ahh that’s tough. but if you wait it out, it’ll be soo worth it 🙂
    Glad you’re feeling better

    Like

  4. I feel for you! I am only 5 days into not running and about to lose my mind! So frustrated! I am toying with the idea of trying to run tomorrow, but worry of a set back! Injuries suck! simple as that!!! But, with that being said, we must look forward, stay positive and know that in the end, we will run and be that much stronger! Hang in there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

