Friday Things

Hello! Happy Friday!

I  hope all of your weeks were fantastic and better then mine. I gotta say, there’s nothing like a sprained ankle to make your entire week go down the toilet. I didn’t do a whole lot this week, since I opted to stay home as much as possible and rest my ankle. There’s also nothing like a sprained ankle to suddenly revert you back to hermit status.

Anyway, this Friday Thing isn’t going to be overly exciting (but who are we kidding? When is it ever?), so feel free to leave now and I’ll see you Monday 😉

The good news is, my ankle is definitely improving. The swelling isn’t gone completely, and it’s starting to get some really great bruising, but it’s less swollen then Monday and Tuesday and I can limp around. My coworker gave me an aircast, for which I am forever grateful. The amount of pressure it takes off my ankle is unbelievable. I’m hoping it really helps with the healing process.

Have you watched “Daredevil” on Netflix yet? If you haven’t, do ittttt. J and I are about 5 episodes in and it is so good. I never saw the Ben Affleck movie version, but I imagine this kicks its ass. If you like superhero movies, give it a try!

Like I said earlier, I haven’t been overly active this week due to bum ankle. But, I plan on trying out a pilates workout this evening. I haven’t done pilates in ages so I know I’ll feel like I got a good workout in. One of the things I’m worried about is I’m so limited when it comes to working out. I’d rather have a busted arm then a busted leg people. I’m hoping soon I can walk on the treadmill with the incline up, but for now, I’m trying to find anything I can do that doesn’t involve standing, or moving my ankle. Not easy.

I’m thinking of pulling from the race in mid-June altogether. There’s no guarantee I’ll be back on my feet by May and able to train for a race. Also, I feel like it’s this looming deadline that I’m rushing to be better by. I’d rather take the pressure off, make sure I allow my ankle to fully heal, and then use the summer to train and be healthy at all my fall races. I’ve got two that are for sure in the books, The Flagstaff Half and the Soulstice Trail Run, and the possibility of a trail Ragnar in  November. I also have signed up for some random 5k’s and whatnot over the summer. I figure I have plenty of opportunity to race this year, why try to rush it and race in June? I am bummed though, since this is the inaugural race, and those are always fun (and small). And the course is beautiful! The run I was on when I busted my ankle took me about 2 miles on the course and I was so excited for the race. Oh well. It’s better the be smart, right? Now I just need to email the race director to see if a refund for an injury is possible.

Alright, time for me to get my rear in gear this morning. Have a stellar weekend everyone!

5 thoughts on “Friday Things

  1. So sorry your ankle is still hurting 😦 I know it can be frustrating, but maybe wait a few more weeks before pulling out of the race. If it isn’t too badly injured you might be surprised how you feel in two weeks. I read an article once about how quickly we start to lose endurance and speed during injuries. It usually takes about two weeks of non-activity for you to start losing some of that speed/endurance, so if it heals quickly you won’t have to work TOO hard to get back on track in time for the race.

    Sending you happy, healing vibes!! Have a great weekend 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the good vibes! I’ll take all of them that I can get 😉 I think we must have read the same article. I’m not so much concerned about losing fitness as I am about pushing myself too soon because of a race on the calendar. Without that pressure, I know I’ll be more prone to letting myself full heal up!

      Like

  2. Glad your ankle is feeling better.!! but hopefull missing a couple races will help you have a great late summer / fall season of running than.! better to be safe 🙂
    Have a great weekend also.!

    Like

  3. Oh man, bum ankles are the worst. Take your time and heal properly. I still have problems from mine because I didn’t take the time to heal. You can have a great summer of training and a lot of fun if you take the time to rest. Pilates sounds fun! I hope you had a good time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

