When Rocks Attack

Yesterday, I set off for my long run for the week. I planned on doing about 9 miles, with some of them on the route for the 27k I’m signed up for mid-June. I was having a seriously stellar run. My legs felt great, it was beautiful out and the trail was fun! I was getting pretty excited for the race.

About a half a mile from where Soldiers Trail (the trail I was on, and the trail for the race) meets back up with the Urban Trail, my foot hit a rock wrong, I rolled my ankle and heard an alarmingly loud “POP”

While stating a lot of f-bombs, I immediately sat down, put my ankle on top of my other leg to elevate it and grabbed my phone. Jeff had the day off, but before I left for my run, he was going to head out to run some errands about an hour outside of town. I was simultaneously trying not to panic and freaking out. I called J and told him I had hurt my ankle, and I thought it was serious. By then it had started to hurt and I told him I thought it may be broken. He said he was turning around, would be there soon and was calling another friend to come get me.

I laid still for a while before testing my ankle out. I was about a half mile from the road and needed to get over there to get picked up. I tentatively tried to move my ankle and found that I could wiggle my toes and move it side to side without any major pain. Relieved,  I called Jeff back, told him it wasn’t broken, got up and starting hobbling toward the road.

It definitely hurt, but I was able to get to the road and laid there with my foot elevated until Jeff was able to get me. Our other friend, was just behind him. I spent the rest of the day icing and keeping it elevated. Today, I’m doing the same. It’s not as swollen as it was yesterday, but it’s still pretty big and black and blue.

Obviously, this sidelines me for a while. I’m optimistic I’ll be back in my running shoes sooner, rather than later, but I’m also painfully aware of the fact that it’ll probably be a few weeks. Which means, the 27k isn’t going to happen. Depending on how quickly I bounce back from this, I may still try to race, and just bump down to the 13k option. Or, I may skip it all together and take the summer to heal and get ready for the fall races I’ve signed up for.

If anyone has any suggestions on non-impact workouts I can do, send them along! I know I’m going to go stir crazy soon. Pilates and upper body weight lifting is about all I can think of right now. Hopefully, soon, I’ll be able to incorporate some modified yoga.

Be careful friends! It’s amazing how quickly you can be enjoying a seriously stellar run and then next, be down and out on a dirt trail.

bustedankle

Any advice on healing quickly? I’ve never had a serious ankle injury before and am seriously bumming.

11 thoughts on “When Rocks Attack

  1. Ouch! I’m wishing you a speedy recovery. You might be able to try swimming depending on the mobility in your ankle. Upper body stuff is good and you should try to eat lots of calcium to help with healing. Keep it elevated when you can and ice it just like you are. And stay positive, you’ll be back at it in no time!

    Like

  2. Oh dear! I hope it heals well. Looks like you have sprained your ankle – I used to get a lot of that as a teenager. IF I am right, you can still try to do some indoor biking if it doesn’t annoy you too much, and wear a compression sleeve around your ankle to stabilise it a bit. But I really recommend you get it X-rayed to make sure nothing is broken!

    Like

    • Thank you! It doesn’t hurt too terribly and the swelling is going down already–which in taking as a good sign! I was wondering about whether compression socks would help, so now I’m definitely going to throw some on. Thanks again!

      Liked by 1 person

      • The healing process involves creating new tissue which is very delicate at first. Anything that stabilises the joint while it’s healing prevents damage to this new tissue so it can heal faster. Be respectful of your pain but don’t stop moving altogether. And get well soon!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yikes.!! oh gosh, I’m so sorry to hear that. : / that’s not good. I hope it heals quickly and nothing too serious.!!

    Like

  4. Oh no! I am so sorry to hear this. I had a similar experience of hearing a loud pop with a mis-step. Mine was over a curb, because I’m ridiculously clumsy, but still. I was really afraid that it was seriously injured and it was difficult to walk on for a few days. I iced it and rested and it ended up just healing on it’s own. I was afraid to go to the doctor because I have mediocre insurance, but I would suggest that you go get it checked out if that is something you have access to. I hope you feel better soon!

    Like

    • I also have mediocre insurance, so I’m trying to avoid the doctor for now at least! My friend gave me an air cast to use and it’s been helping! The swelling is already down considerably.

      Like

  5. Pingback: Friday Things | Running High

  6. Pingback: Training with a Busted Ankle | Running High

  7. Pingback: How Soon is Too Soon? …And my plan for Saturday | Running High

Leave a Reply

