Training Log 4.6.15-4.12.15

Another Monday, another week!

return mondays

I took it a bit easier this week since last week I really wore my legs out. I’m still trying to figure out a training for this 27k in June, so I’m alright taking it a bit easier for a while.

Monday – Rest

J and I came home from camping and I was utterly exhausted. The wind was pretty strong up on the Rim and it kept me up for most of the night. I thought about running, but when we got home, an afternoon on the couch watching Park and Rec seemed a lot more appealing.

Tuesday – 6 treadmill miles. Speed work

I started out running outside, but the wind made me turn around and head back home pretty quickly. Since I was confined to the treadmill, I decided to make it a speed session. I made it into a ladder workout. 400, 800, 1200, 1600, with 400 rest in between. I didn’t push the pace too much. I kept it between 7.8-7.9 on the treadmill. The last speedy mile was around a 7.6. I haven’t done any speed work since before the marathon, so I didn’t want to push too  hard.

Wednesday – 3 miles in Sedona, 8:42 avg

I usually do a strength workout on Wednesdays, but since I took an extra rest day, I opted for running. I ran after work in Sedona and checked out another new trail. The wind was still blowing pretty hard (welcome to Spring in Northern Arizona),  and I was pretty tired, so I kept it short and sweet. This trail was a pretty steady climb, so I didn’t try to push the pace.

GCentralTrail

Thursday – 4 treadmill miles, 8:20 avg

I knew I was going to have to stay late at work on Thursday, so I got my run done early. It was cold out, so I took to the ol’ mill again.

Friday – 3 miles with Rudy, 7:50avg

I had planned on running after work again on Friday and I got out of work a little later than I would have liked. We had plans that evening, so I got home, changed with lightening speed, leashed up the pup and headed out for some speedy miles.

TrailwithRudy

Saturday – Rest

I stayed out late on Friday and slept through my alarm to run on Saturday morning. When I got home from work, I considered running, but drinks and dinner with friends sounded like more fun. So, I did that instead!

Sunday – 90 min Bikram Yoga

I’m going to do a full post about my first hot yoga experience, but let’s just say I was fully unprepared for how intense it was. That was the longest 90 minutes of my life!

This week I’m going to try to nail down a training schedule and see what the next few weeks need to look like in order to run 16.8 miles in a month and a half. Gotta get movin!

4 thoughts on “Training Log 4.6.15-4.12.15

  1. Haha! I can’t wait to hear about your experience. Bikram Yoga is hard! My first time in a Bikram class, I thought I was going to pass out and/or barf from the heat. After a few times it gets better. You should also try a hot vinyasa class, it’s a little less intense on the heat.

    Like

    • Omg Kerry! I legitimately was afraid for a while I was going to barf everywhere and then pass out!! It was the longest 90 min of my life! I just found a hot vinyasa class that I want to try. It sounds so much better!

      Like

  2. hmm. now I’l have to read your hot yoga recap before I try it out myself. lol. Looking forward to it 🙂 and good job on your runs this week

    Like

Leave a Reply

