Training Log 3.30.15-3.5.15

Oh, hey there!

Sorry for not getting this post up yesterday. J and I decided on a somewhat impromptu camping trip (more on that tomorrow!), and I didn’t have the foresight to write it before we left. So, here it is! Happy Tuesday!

I’m pretty happy with the way this week played out. I was feeling dead tired by the end of it, and I’m sure it has a lot to do with the fact that I need new shoes…badly. And I did a few too many hard runs.

Monday – 10 trail miles 

Since I already wrote about this run, I’ll just leave you with this picture.

runningshot

Tuesday – 3 recovery miles with Rudy, 8:04 pace

Monday’s run really beat up my legs and I wasn’t planning on running Tuesday morning. But, I don’t go into work on Tuesdays until 11:30 (truly, it’s ridiculous) and it was a beautiful morning and Rudy wanted to run! We set out at around 8:15am and it was already warm enough for shorts and a tank top. It was glorious. We covered 3 easy miles and called it a day.

Wednesday – Yoga, 45 min + ab work

Since my legs were still feeling pretty darn bad, I decided to opt for some yoga after work. I got home, set up my mat and pulled up Yoga Download’s Yoga for Runners. I did some much needed stretching and felt brand new afterwards. Then I tacked on some planks and other ab work for fun after.

Thursday – 4 trail miles in Sedona, 8:15 avg

My run looked like this:

JavalinaTrail

I cannot even.

I found a new trail on my way to the one I’ll typically run after work and I about died of happiness. Which explains the rather too-fast pace. I got done after this run and knew right away that I ran it a little too hard.

Friday – 3 miles, 8:00 min avg

Again, I’m not sure why I ran so fast. It was another after work run, but at home this time. My legs were tired, but I just kept pushing it. J and I ended up having some friends come over and drinks were had. I also ended up finally registering for the Flagstaff Extreme Big Pine race…guess who’s racing the 27k?!

Saturday – 2 treadmill miles, 7.0 mph

I got home Saturday and it was uber windy out and I just didn’t have it in me to fight it. I hopped on the treadmill and between the hard week of running and my worn out running shoes, I only managed 2 miles before I called it quits.

Sunday – Rest

J and I left pretty early in the morning to head out to the Mogollon Rim to camp.

MogollonRim

It was pretty freaking awesome.

Total miles: 22

I wanted to do a few more miles this week, but the hard runs killed my legs. New shoes should help this week, and being a little smarter about letting my legs rest when they need to should help.

3 thoughts on “Training Log 3.30.15-3.5.15

  1. Those trails look like so much fun!! We have some really awesome trails around here but I would have to drive at least an hour to get to the good ones. I’m going to have to do that one weekend just to mix it up and challenge my legs!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Friday Things | Running High

Leave a Reply

