Training Log 3.9.15-3.15.15

First off, I want to say congrats to everyone that finished the LA Marathon yesterday! I heard the heat was absolutely killer and I’m so stoked for everyone that made it!

I’m back with a training log this week, though it’s nothing fantastic. I plan on kicking it back up a notch this week–regular runs and exercises again. I’ve let myself fully recuperate and I have no other excuses not to get back into a routine again. Plus, I’ll just feel better about life again!

Since my runs/exercises this week were pretty lame, I’m not going to bother to list the entire week. I’ll just make note of the days I actually did some physical activity.

Tuesday – 3 treadmill miles, 7.2mph

I’ve discovered since I don’t have to run a certain amount of miles on a specific day, that I’m less inclined to go run outside when it’s still in the 20s. It’s starting to warm up, but it’s still dark and cold at 5 am, so I prefer to hop on the ol’ mill.

Thursday  – 4 angry miles, alternating 7.2 and 8 mph

This was an awful day. My day was nothing but a big ball of frustration from the moment I left the house in the morning to the minute I got home in the evening. And it was dark, so I hopped on the treadmill and ran it out. I put on some loud angry music and alternated 8 mph and 7.2 mph at a 1% incline for each song. My hamstrings are still sore.

Friday – 3 miles with Rudy, no watch

I don’t know my pace for this run (oh the freedom!), I just went out for a few easy miles with Rudy. We ran on snow and in mud and it was fantastic. He only almost made me faceplant into a mud puddle once, so that’s good.

Saturday  – 30 min strength workout

I did an NTC workout for the first time in ages and it felt so good. I’m still very aware that my legs are not 100% since the marathon, so I subbed a few of the leg exercises for abs or arms. But, it felt good to get back to strength training.

Total miles: 10

Like I said, not the best week ever. But, at least I’ve been doing something! It’s a beautiful day today, so I’m going to head out soon for a nice easy longer-ish run. I have no idea what that will be, but it’ll be more then 3, that’s for sure.

Hope everyone has a stellar Monday!

3 thoughts on “Training Log 3.9.15-3.15.15

  1. Sounds like a great recovery week. You worked really hard for your BQ and it’s completely understandable that you want a rest right now. Angry running and running with no watch or other pace measuring device are both such freeing activities.

    Like

Leave a Reply

