Training Log 2.16.15-2.22.15

Happy Monday to you! Did anyone suffer through the Oscars last night? Jeff and I attempted, as I usually am a sucker for them, but about halfway through we turned it off. It was just SO boring. I also love Neil Patrick Harris, but I thought he was kind of a dud as a host. Maybe it got better as the night went on, but I was unimpressed!

Anyway, it’s RACE WEEK! 5 days until the marathon and I have no idea how I’m feeling. My glutes are crazy sore for some reason and my heel has been bugging me a bit the last week or so. I’m hoping I won’t need to be on the sales floor too much this week and can sit as much as possible. I am super excited, and absolutely confident that on Saturday evening, I’ll be sitting on the couch getting drunk off champagne and celebrating my BQ. Gonna make it happen!

Anyway, this past week I really embraced the taper. I would go to bed and set my alarm for 5-5:30 and, with one exception, would reset it in the morning for an hour later and run after work. Since it’s lighter outside longer, I figured it can’t be bad to give myself more rest.

Monday – 3 miles, 7.0 mph on treadmill, 1% incline

I usually rest on Mondays, but since I was working that day and taking Tuesday off for J-Money’s birthday, I figured I’d switch my runs around too. 3 easy miles on the treadmill before work.

Tuesday – Rest

J’s birthday. So many activities, but no running.

Wednesday – 3.52 miles with the pup, 8:07 pace

I’ve been loving taking Rudy running with me lately. It’s nice to go on easy runs together after work. He’s been doing a lot better, too. He rarely tries to pull my arm from it’s socket anymore and only wants to stop and pee 100 times instead of 1000.

3.5fitsnap

Thursday – Strength day

I used this workout from Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers. It’s been one of my favorite go-to’s for a quick workout for ages. It’s effective and, depending on your pace, can be thoroughly exhausting. I added some extra arm and ab work at the end.

Friday – 3 miles, treadmill

Another treadmill run after work. I had big plans for another run outside with Rudy, but I got home a lot later from work than I was expecting, so I hopped on the treadmill as it was getting dark outside.

Saturday  – Rest

I had intentions to do yoga on Saturday, but again, I slept in over getting up and then it was my friend’s birthday party, so straight from work we went over to her place.

Sunday  – 7 miles, 8:31 avg

I was getting ready to head out for my run when Rudy started excitedly following me and dashing toward the garage anytime I stepped around him. I decided to take him with me for the first few miles.

How do you say no to that face?

How do you say no to that face?

 It was insanely windy. We’re talking, 35mph gusts. So, I ran two easy miles with the pup, dropped him off and headed out for 5 more on a nearby trail. Besides the wind, it was a beautiful day. It’s currently raining/snowing outside, so I’m glad I fought the wind and spent some time outside.

trailrunningsunday

Total miles: 16.5

This week I’m taking it really easy. I’m hoping to squeeze in a yoga session at some point today to stretch out my glutes and run easy Tuesday, Thursday and take Wednesday and Friday off completely to rest. Here’s hoping it pays off!

Hope you have a great Monday!

7 thoughts on “Training Log 2.16.15-2.22.15

  1. I got weird about sore spots before my last race too. I was convinced something was wrong cause I was sore in a taper week. But everything turned out ok. I’m sure you’re gonna do awesome and get that BQ. Good luck!

    Like

  2. I like Neil Patrick Harris, but I just don’t think he could outdue last years amazing hosting. lol
    Race week.! omg how exciting 🙂 Enjoy your easy week and yoga 🙂

    Like

  3. Now I’m kind of happy that I don’t have cable and got to miss the Oscars! Everything I’ve heard has been negative. The red carpet looked fantastic though.

    I just found your blog and I’m loving it so far! Good luck in your race, can’t wait to read your recap!

    Like

Leave a Reply

