Training Log 12.1.14-12.7.14

Happiest of Mondays!

I’m still riding my weekend high and enjoying this day off. I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend and that your Monday is quick and painless! This week, I didn’t focus too  much on running fast or hard, I just wanted to get in some quality miles. Since the Fiesta Bowl Half is on Sunday (!!) and I want to race it hard, I’ve tried to do a kind of taper, without actually tapering. So, we’ll see how that worked out.

Monday – 2 mile walk with Rudy + some QT with my foam roller

I was really sore and tired after my 12 miler the other week (thanks to the wrong shoe debacle), so I took Rudy for a nice long, leisurely walk and then spent some serious time rolling my legs that night.

Tuesday – 3.1 miles (8:31 avg)

While walking Rudy on Monday, we passed a forest road I didn’t know existed. I immediately decided I wanted to run it and check it out, so I planned that for Tuesday since I had a closing shift at work, and the morning to run.

new trail

Turns out, it goes absolutely nowhere. It went for about 0.5 of a mile and then emptied me out onto the road by my house. Bust. So, I just kind of ran around on a different trail for a little while longer, then called it a day.

Wednesday – 4 miles (8:12 avg)

It was rainy this morning. When I started out, it was not raining and my weather app said I was clear until 9am, so I went out in a regular old long sleeve and capris. Well, it poured and I got soaking wet. I felt like a drowned puppy.

Thursday – 5 miles (no data)

My Garmin was being super glitchy this morning. I synced it, press start and then at the mile point when it didn’t beep, I saw that it was on the home page. So, I synced it, pressed start and it did it again. So, I said screw it, and ran without it. Since I didn’t have any idea what my pace was, I just tried to run it easy. It was pouring again this morning, so I wore my rain jacket. Which, definitely kept me super dry–and HOT. I was a sweaty mess by the end.

rainy day

Friday – Abs (15 min)

Inadvertent kind of rest day? We went out Thursday night with friends, and while I had plans to run Friday morning, when my alarm actually went off, that didn’t happen. Then I meant to do a strength workout when I got home that evening, but I also had to stop at the store on the way home and pick up something for dinner…so when all was said and done, it was about 8pm and I just didn’t have it in me. I did do a quick ab workout while the pizza was cooking though…so…I tried?

Saturday – 3 miles, (8:15 avg) +15 min Alpha Abs workout

Nothing too remarkable. I woke up early before work on Saturday and ran a few miles, then came home and did some abs. The end.

Sunday – 8 miles, (8:14 avg) hilly

I ran an old trail I haven’t been on in years. I used it a lot while training for my first marathon, and it was fun to see how far I’ve progressed. I remember the big hill being an absolute beast, and while it definitely still is, I got up it a lot easier than I used to.

Sunday elevation

I tried to really let myself fly on the downhill and practice elongating my stride. I don’t know how bad the downhills on the Phoenix Marathon course will be, but I learned from Utah Valley that they can take a serious toll on your quads.

flyin down the mountain

It felt pretty good. The miles flew by (love when that happens!) and it was a really beautiful day.

Not sure how this week is going to pan out–I want to go into the half this weekend rested and ready to race, so we’ll see how much I decide to run this week. Some yoga is definitely on the agenda for today!

Leave a Reply

