Training Log 11.24.14-11.30.14

Holy moly! Last night as we were getting ready for bed, Flagstaff experienced an earthquake! Growing up in LA, it definitely wasn’t a new experience for me…the ’94 Northridge Earthquake will forever live in my memory as the scariest thing ever. Also, I was supposed to go see Beauty and the Beast On Ice the morning of the infamous quake and my five year old self has never gotten over that disappointment. I digress. I sure wasn’t expecting to feel that last night! Shook me up a wee bit.

Anyway. This week has felt like a month, I can barely remember what I did. We had eight people and four dogs over for Thanksgiving this year, plus I worked all week. I had Thursday off (thankfully), but I worked every other day. And it was weird. And rather sad I barely got to spend any time with my family. My mom, dad, brother and his girlfriend and aunt and uncle all came to spend the holiday with us, which made me SO happy. I’m thankful Jeff was able to take time off work to play host, while I went back and forth from work. It was a very wonderful holiday and I ate myself silly.

But, let’s get to the workouts for the week!

The Fiesta Bowl Half Marathon is on Dec 14 (in two weeks!), so I wanted to nail down a really good week of running this week. I’ll probably cut back a bit this week and then kind of taper the week leading up to the race, so I ran hard this week.

Monday – 2 miles with Rudy (8:05 avg) + 10 min arm and 15 min abs workout

I wasn’t planning on running, but I could tell Rudy wanted to stretch his legs, so I decided we’d go for a short jaunt. He was really spastic and all over the place, so we didn’t last long. My shoulder was almost ripped from the socket a few times when he tried to go after a squirrel or a bird.

Essentially, that's Rudy.

I finished with a quick arm and ab workout and called it a day.

Tuesday – 5 miles (7:40 avg)

I wanted to try to run at what I am hoping will be my half-marathon pace, and see how I fared. I managed to do it, but to be honest, I’m not really sure if I can maintain that for 8 more miles. That doesn’t mean I’m not going to try though.

Wednesday – 15 min ab workout + 10 min arms

I got up at 5:30 to do a good strength workout before work. My parents got into town Tuesday afternoon, which meant we already had three dogs at the house. By the time I actually got to workout (taking them out, trying to explain that my being on the floor was not an invitation for them to all crawl over me and then cleaning up the water that got spilled when a rogue tail made contact with my water bottle, all while trying not to wake everyone up, took some time) it was after 6. Doh. So, I improvised. Something is better then nothing right?

Thursday – 7 miles (8:11 avg)

This run was great! There was no turkey trot or anything for me. I just threw on my shoes when I woke up and went out before the cooking for the day started. It was cold–especially when I went through the canyon–but it was a great time on the trails.

from Instagram

from Instagram: I was too cold to try to set up the timer and everything, so I just snapped a selfie.

Friday – 4 miles (8:33 avg)

I was cold and sluggish on this run. It was very unremarkable. My legs were frozen and I was tired when I got home. This may have had something to do with the amount of wine I drank on Thursday..but that’s just a guess. I was also tired and annoyed I had to go to work that day, so there you go.

Saturday – Rest

I opted not to work out in the morning because I wanted to spend what little time I had left with my family before I left for work and they all left for their respective homes. Then, I came home from work and collapsed on the couch and that is where I stayed until it was time for bed.

Sunday – 12 miles (8:28 avg)

I felt really good for the beginning of this run. Then I turned around and BAM! The wind hit me and I suddenly realized why the first miles felt so easy! Also, right before I hit the 6 mile turnaround, I felt some kind of twinge in my ankle. It wasn’t pain necessarily, but I noticed it. Then my hip started to hurt, then my calf started to tighten up (all on my right side mind you). I stopped and stretched a few times and wondered wtf was going on. Around mile 9 I happened to be looking down and noticed my right shoe was torn. Huh. These are new-ish shoes. I was surprised by how worn it looked already. I stopped and looked at my other shoe…it was in great shape and MUCH pinker.

That’s when it hit me. I had grabbed my old shoe. When I ran in Sedona last weekend, I threw my shoes in the back of my car…where my other shoes, the same identical pair in fact, lived as backup shoes when I need to get down and dirty at the gallery and I don’t want to ruin my flats. I had grabbed one correct shoe, and one old shoe. Whoops. At least that explains the pain.

The rest of the run was fine. I felt tired, but I’m not surprised by that.

lakemarylongrun

It was in the mid-50s when I went to run (!!!!!!), but really windy, so still chilly. BUT! I got to wear shorts! Hooray!

Total milage : 30 miles

I feel really good about this week. I felt good, and ran strong. I’m really interested to see what happens at the half marathon on the 14th!

The monthly review for November will be up tomorrow, so stay tuned! In the meantime, enjoy this picture of me and my Moe-Man.

So flattering. But I freaking love and miss that dog so much.

So flattering. But I freaking love and miss that dog so much.

One thought on “Training Log 11.24.14-11.30.14

  1. Pingback: Training Log 12.1.14-12.7.14 | Running High

Leave a Reply

