The Therapy Run. Embrace it.

We’ve all been there.

That asshole coworker made another snide comment. The lady making your salad (or burger…whatever) at lunch looked at you sideways. The traffic on the way home was terrible. You get home and you are filled with RAGE. You pick a fight with your significant other. You yell at your dog/kid/cat/rabbit/snake/whatever.

tumblr_inline_mset1rAjDx1qz4rgp

Your only option? Go for a therapy run.

You put your shoes on and you run. You run out the rage, and the sadness and whatever other emotion you’re feeling. And then suddenly…you’re flying. Life is beautiful again and full of rainbows and unicorns and happiness.

photo (6)

So this doesn’t have rainbows or unicorns, but it’s my happy place.

I’m a big believer in the therapy run. I had a crap job I hated for a year and a half, and I used the therapy run a LOT. After work, before work, even during work. It’s amazing what going out and running for a few miles could do for my attitude.

When I’m training, though, every single run has a purpose. Even the runs that are “recovery runs” are planned out. There’s not usually time, or energy, for a spontaneous I HATE THE WORLD AND EVERYONE IN IT run.

On Saturday, I need to spend some time, alone, in my shoes. It wasn’t a particularly bad  day, I just really needed to go out and run with no agenda, no plan, and no guilt if my plan wasn’t met. I just wanted to run.

And so I did. It wasn’t anything special–I didn’t take my watch, so I don’t know my pace and I think I went about two miles. Definitely not more then that. It was windy and cold, so I didn’t want to be out there long, but when I got home I felt better. I just felt better.

When I train, it takes over my life. It’s what I want to talk about to everyone, friend or random stranger in the grocery line. I’m constantly thinking about workouts, distances, paces, routes, fuel options, etc. And I’m going to spew that information to anyone who says hello to me. You know how people always say “How do you know if a person does ________? They’ll tell you.” TOTALLY GUILTY. Without even knowing it, I’m working it into a conversation that I’m a runner and omg let me tell you about my run this morning!

Training is exhausting. Not just physically, but mentally. I can’t promise I’ll give myself a mental break in from of a therapy run often, because, let’s face it, when I’m running 35+  miles a week, I’ll most likely turn to a large glass of wine.

Kristen-Wiig-Bridesmaids-wine

And you can’t plan a therapy run–that defeats the purpose.

All I can say is Saturday really helped me. It made me feel better and it felt good to go out sans-watch and with no distance plan.

The Therapy Run is like an extra bonus for being a runner. So, friends, take advantage of the opportunity when you can. There’s not many better ways to make a bad mood go away.

One thought on “The Therapy Run. Embrace it.

  1. Pingback: The Importance of Rest | Running High

Leave a Reply

