Training: An Update

This kind of post could easily be incorporated into my monthly recaps, but, where’s the fun in that? Part of my desire to start this blog was to document how my training progressed while dealing with working long hours and my new commute. So, that’s what I’m going to do.

On a good day, my commute can take anywhere between 35-40min. On a busy day, it can take up to an hour. Each way. That’s a lot of time in the car. My work day is typically 8.5-9 hours with no dedicated lunch break. There’s no way to incorporate midday runs and on a bad day, I’m spending about 11 hours dedicated to work.

My work schedule has also not settled into a weekly routine. I work Tuesdays-Saturdays, but the days I close versus the days I open aren’t always the same week to week. As somebody who desperately loves routine, I’ve done the best I can to create some kind of weekly regime.

Typically my weekly workouts look like this:

Monday-Rest

Tuesday- Speed

Wednesday- Strength

Thursday- Mid-distance run

Friday- Easy Run

Saturday – Strength

Sunday- Long Run

So far, it’s worked really well. I adjust the time I wake up to match the time I have to be at work. Some mornings, that means I’m out the door at 5am, others, I’m out between 7:30-8.

Hello 5am! I am tired and the darkness does not help.

Hello 5am! I am tired and you being so dark does not help.

Most mornings, I don’t mind the early wake up call. There’s something to be said about running while the world is still quiet.

While it’s not ideal (I’d much rather have a set schedule where I wake up at the same time every day), I have a feeling the days I can get out a little later in the morning will be nice when it starts getting much colder. I like having my workouts done before I get to work, opposed to running after work. It sets the tone for the day and I’m actually holding up really well (so far). Most days I have my (LARGE) cup of coffee before I leave for work, and don’t have any other caffeine throughout the day. Other days I need a pick-me-up mid-afternoon, but for the most part, I can soldier through it. Although I hate the long days that accompany a closing shift, it is nice to have a few days a week I can sleep until 7. Such a treat.

Overall, I’m feeling pretty good. By the time my weekend rolls around I am tired. But, that’s normal…I feel that way with every training cycle. In fact, when Jeff and I first started dating, I was mid-cycle for a marathon and I ended up falling asleep on the couch every night because I was embarrassed to say I wanted to be in bed before 11…now I go to bed around 9 and couldn’t care less. Sleep is so glorious.

Essentially…I’m still just winging it and taking it day by day. I’m on the hunt for a good water-and-wind-resistant jacket (any suggestions, please share!) to wear when the temps drop a bit more, and I’m preparing myself mentally for an extremely cold winter. Last year was pretty mild, but I’ve heard rumors we’re in for it this year (of course, I hear those rumors every year…). While It’s good to know I have the option of running in Sedona when the time comes, I’m going to do all my long runs in Flag (I don’t want to drive to Sedona-or anywhere else for that matter-if I don’t have to on my day off), and I am prepared for that to suck in a big way.

The only thing I’m struggling with is I feel like I’m rarely home. And when I am, I’m an unmotivated blob. I want to do nothing but eat and watch tv for like 2 hours and then go to sleep. Basically, the exciting kind of person you want to be around. I’m very grateful for my wonderful man-friend and friends that understand and encourage this crazy hobby.

Right now, I’m just really happy and grateful to be running, and running well. I feel good and like the numbers I’m seeing. And, running through the season I hate most will only make me stronger, right…..?

One thought on “Training: An Update

  1. Look into Lands’ End new “softshell jacket” $79 good for temps 20 to 35 degrees. There is suggestions (like Thermskin Heat crew) for layers to increase warmth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

