Off to the Races!

This past weekend I had my first NASCAR experience. Let me preface this by saying: I am not a car person. Jeff is a car person. I can change a tire, and my oil (thanks to Jeff), but I don’t really care about cars. I do, however, enjoy a good race. (I’m a runner after all).

Not my normal race for a Saturday or Sunday, but I repped the Brooks anyway

Not my normal race for a Saturday or Sunday, but I repped the Brooks anyway

The most I’ve ever had to do with NASCAR before this was a trip to the NASCAR Hall of Fame in Charlotte when my dad visited me there. He wanted to go, so we went. Other than that, I knew it involved cars, and they drove around in a giant circle really fast. Basically, I was a pro.

The start of Race 1: Saturday.

The start of Race 1: Saturday.

I was strongly encouraged by Jeff’s parents to cheer for certain people, but having no loyalty to anyone in particular, I cheered for whoever was in first (obviously–because it’s not fun if your guy doesn’t win!). On the first day, that meant car number 34 (I think). Who ended up losing at the last second to Keselowski (#22 on Saturday–and then #2 on Sunday. Talk about confusing), who apparently is a big ol’ jerk. Bu even I have to admit, the dude can drive.

A crash! This guy DNF'ed. Obviously since his car is kind of a smokey blur.

A crash! This guy DNF’ed. Obviously since his car is kind of a smokey cloud.

Sunday’s race promised to be more exciting then Saturday’s. It had more names that I recognized, anyway (That Hall of Fame trip sure came in handy). One thing that was really fun to watch was the lead car. Number 11 was in first and then his pit crew screwed up and he dropped to the back of the pack. He ended up climbing back up to fifth place, which was really cool to watch. That amount of determination in an athlete, regardless of their sport, is inspiring.

Obligatory selfie at Sunday's race.

Obligatory selfie at Sunday’s race.

Even though I am not a car person, and I can’t say I’m hooked after this weekend, I enjoyed myself. I can appreciate the skill and dedication it takes to race like that. And, I was able to make a lot of parallel’s to the running world, which kept it relevant for me. (Jeff also explained a lot in Mario Kart terms, which was equally as helpful).

Overall, I enjoyed myself. I will happily return next year if we end up making this a thing. I’ll probably stick to following the running world more closely, but it was a fun thing to experience.

And, anytime I can enjoy beer and french fries midday is alright by me.

Beer and french fries

One thought on “Off to the Races!

  1. Pingback: November In Review | Running High

Leave a Reply

