I didn’t do laundry this weekend.

I had a completely different post written and ready to go this morning. I talked mostly about how running around work has been, and how I’ve been coping with the constantly changing schedule. It’s a post I’ll write eventually, but it felt weird when training has just barely started and, honestly, it felt really incoherent and all over the place.

I had a rough week last week. Things started off terribly and just kind of percolated through the entire week. I got home from work on Saturday evening in a terrible mood. Instead of being happy the week was over and I had two days off ahead of me, I was focused on how bad the whole week had been.

The rest of the weekend was nothing overly exciting. In fact, it was perfectly normal. Jeff and I slept in on Sunday, had breakfast together. He taught me how to change the oil in the Jeep, I went for a run, did some chores and then we spent the evening relaxing on the couch.

Monday was much the same. We ran errands for most of the morning and then in the afternoon we went to the Inner Basin in search of some fall color.

fall collage

Most of the trees had lost their leaves by the time we made it up there, but we hiked around for a while and it was really beautiful. It was nice to get out into the fresh, chilly air and into the mountains with my boys.

The rest of the day was uneventful. We watched Netflix, had dinner and went to bed early.

I went to bed feel happy, rested and content. I woke up on Tuesday morning, feeling happy, rested and ready to tackle the week.

As training begins to increase, my stress level will increase. That’s a given. I am always in hyperdrive, and it seems amplified somehow when I’m training. There’s always something I need to be doing.

I want this weekend to serve as a reminder of how necessary resting and relaxing is. The weekend was pretty typical, except for the fact that I didn’t really do any of the chores I usually reserve for the weekends. Laundry didn’t get done, the house didn’t get cleaned. Instead, I enjoyed spending time doing random, everyday things with my boys.

This training cycle is going to test my limits. I know that. I don’t like running in the dark, or the cold. Two things I will have more than my fair share of in the coming months. I want to make a conscious effort to relax. To let a thing, or two, slip off my to-do list, to enjoy time not running, not working, and just being in the moment.

Took my flystyle to the woods and showed off my perfected ninja kick.

Took my flystyle to the woods and showed off my perfected ninja kick.

At least, that’s the goal.

2 thoughts on “I didn’t do laundry this weekend.

  1. Pingback: Training Log: 10.20.14-10.26.14 | Running High

  2. Pingback: I’m so wild | Running High

Leave a Reply

