Training Log 9.29.14-10.5.14

Happy Monday, everyone!

Today I’m enjoying having no real plans or things to do, besides baking a loaf of Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread. I have to say, having Mondays off work is kind of awesome.

It’s most definitely Fall in Flagstaff. The leaves are changing, the electric blanket is on our bed, and I even caved and turned the heater on in the morning a few times this week. I definitely felt the chill in the early mornings. With that said, let’s take a look at this week’s workouts! This was the last week of just running–no planned workouts or distances. The only thing I had nailed down was a 6 mile run on Sunday.

Monday – 3 easy miles with Rudy (8:32 avg)

I wasn’t planning on running on Monday, but I had the day off work and Rudy was begging for a walk. I figured if I was going to take him on a long walk, I might as well slog through a few miles. I took him on the trail near our house and once we hit dirt, I let him off leash to chase squirrels and pee on every bush, while I followed behind him and enjoyed the beautiful day. Considering I was recovering from a Very Vegas Weekend, my legs felt pretty good.

Right before he went darting off after a squirrel.

Right before he went darting off after a squirrel.

Tuesday – Cardio Barre Fusion workout + 15min NTC Alpha Ab workout

After I hurt my foot, I was looking for a good workout with low impact. Enter Cardio Barre Fusion. It has a great arm workout and my legs always feel like jell-o afterwards. It’s easy to do at home–it requires almost no equipment. I use 2.5 lb weights for the arm portion, and one of our kitchen chairs for the rest.

I also did the 15 minute Alpha Ab workout from Nike Training Club. I LOVE the this app. If you haven’t heard of it before, you’re welcome. I first heard about it from Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers, about a year ago (I *think*). Anyway, it’s a great tool for cross-training workouts. It has various workouts for any number of specific goals and various intensities. I like to utilize their 15 minute “Get Focused” workouts for after a quick run or to supplement a different workout. Download it. You can thank me later.

Wednesday– 3.5 miles (8:17 avg)

The only thing I can say about this run is that it was COLD. I had to bust out my cold weather gear, and it was only the second day of October! It was 32* out when I hit the pavement….it’s going to take me a while to get used to the cold again.

Thursday – Off

I wasn’t planning on taking a rest day, but when my alarm went off, all I could think about was more sleep. I decided to give in and nestled back into bed for 40 extra minutes of blissful sleep.

Friday – 4 miles (8:26 avg)

I had to close the gallery Friday night, which meant I got to run when the sun was up! I headed out the door about 7:30am and it was still only 21* out. I did a hillier route that took me through my old neighborhood and then into the woods to circle back out by our house. It was a beautiful, crisp morning and I had a great time just running in the sun.

10:3

Saturday – Another strength workout was on the agenda for today. I took inspiration from this workout from Tina‘s blog. It was a tough one! It only took me about 20 minutes, but I was beat–and SO sore from the push-ups! My arms still hurt.

Sunday – 6 miles

My Garmin died mid-way through my run, so I don’t have any stats for it. It was a beautiful day–mid 70s and not a cloud in the sky. I ran comfortably, with no other goal than to finish the 6 miles. I know I slowed down the last couple of miles..my legs were definitely starting to feel fatigued, but it was a good run on a beautiful Sunday morning.

This week I plan on re-introducing speed workouts and more specific weekly milage goals. While I love going out to just run, it’ll feel good to have some more specific goals to hit!

Tell me! How was your week of workouts?

One thought on “Training Log 9.29.14-10.5.14

  1. Pingback: Training Log 10.6.14-10.12.14 | Running High

Leave a Reply

